EFT is a very strange form of “therapy.” It seems like quackery, and I thought it was too at first. I went to a therapist who introduced me to it a while back, and I stopped seeing her after the first session because I thought it was so strange. It involves repeated tapping on various pressure points while repeating mantras to release stuck emotions. I know, it sounds pretty ridiculous, and it can look even more ridiculous. What I’ve recently learned though is that it is similar to acupuncture, a way to release blocked energy in the body that is causing negative effects in the body/mind.

I was reintroduced to EFT through a webinar over the weekend. I’d heard that it worked wonders for many people and I’m glad I gave it another try. After doing that webinar EFT session (just last night) I felt like I had released a lot of stuck emotions, and I felt more energized both immediately afterwards as well as today.

The EFT session we did in the webinar had to do with releasing fear of rejection. I’ve had a big fear of rejection for as long as I can remember. I have always been afraid that people won’t like me. Though the webinar was more inclined towards rejection in romantic relationships, and my fear is about being rejected by people in general (hence my social anxiety), I related to it a lot and I even teared up a bit during some parts. It felt extremely cathartic. I was so inspired that I decided to Google search some more videos of EFT, and I found some extremely helpful videos by a man named Brad Yates. I’m not sure what his qualifications are, but based on the comments he gets on his YouTube channel, his videos have really helped a lot of people, myself included! He has videos on nearly any topic you could think of– from fear of conflict to allowing money into your life.

From what I gather, EFT is something that you do on an ongoing basis. It seems like a form of self-care, prevention, and protection.The cool thing about it is that it can be done both with the help of a therapist and also in the comfort of your own home. I did several of Brad’s videos, on the following topics: fear of rejection, fear of being loved/unlovable, grief and loss, and feeling unworthy. These are things I struggle with on a daily basis. All you have to do is copy exactly what he does in the videos. Once you get the hang of it, you can tailor it to your own specific needs.

So go ahead and give it a try. The worst thing that can happen is that you might think you look foolish, which is what happened to me the first time. But the amount of energy I had at work today, on a Monday, with only 6 hours of sleep (usually I get 8-9, I’m one of those people), proved me wrong. It really did help! I’m at a point where my anxiety is really variable depending on the situation I’m in, where somedays I don’t have anxiety attacks and some I still do. But today I noticed something even better–I just felt a lot more social, carefree, energized, and productive. That is a win in my book 🙂

